Posts Tagged ‘Basingstoke Sports Council’

Basingstoke and Deane Sports Awards

Written by bryan. Posted in News

Basingstoke Sports Awards

Congratulation to our members who took part in Basingstoke and Deane’s 2016 Sports Awards held at the beginning of March at The Apollo Hotel in Basingstoke. This years Sports Awards organised by Basingstoke Sports Council and Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council attracted a wealth of talent with competitors from many sports present from all over the Borough.

We had finalists in all the categories that we entered, which was a pleasing result. Our overall results were very good and marked the end of a good year for our Martial Arts club based in Basingstoke.

Bas2016SportsAwards26-min (1) (1) (1)Senior Team of the Year

Winners – Shin Gi Tai Senior Team

Senior Disability Sportsperson of the YearBas2016SportsAwards02

Winner Mandi Miles

Bas2016SportsAwards01Junior Disability Sportsperson of the Year

Runner Up – Scott Howes 

Winner Cameron Lloyd

Senior Sportswomanof the YearBas2016SportsAwards09

3rd Place – Jessica Muller

Winner – Lindsey Andrews

IMG_7846Sportsman of the Year

Runner Up – Bryan Andrews

IMG_5265Junior Sportsman of the Year

3rd Place Harry Cronk –


Basingstoke and Deane Sports Awards 2015

Written by bryan. Posted in Awards, News

Basingstoke and Deane Sports Awards, Basingstoke Sports CouncilCongratulations to all the members from Shin Gi Tai Martial Arts Academt who were selected for the Basingstoke and Deane Sports Awards.

Shin Gi Tai had an inspiring evening winning the following categories.

  • Junior Volunteer of the Year – Jess Muller
  • Senior Sportsman of the Year – Mark Nevola
  • Senior Sportswoman of the Year – Lindsey AndrewsProfessional Sports Coach of the Year – Bryan Andrews
  • Junior Sports Team of The Year – Jessica Muller, Edward van Meerkerk, Zara Hughes-White, Izzie Bailey, Kienan Dolan, Zane Sewell, Harry Cronk, Harry van Meerkerk, Emma Baldry, Samantha Butcher, Georgina Butcher, Edward Andrews and Rebecca Halil

Basingstoke and Deane Sports Club of the Year. –

Congratulations to the following club finalists at the awards

  • Junior Volunteer of the Year – Harry van Meerkerk
  • Senior Volunteer of the Year – Paula Clarke
  • Junior Sportswoman of the Year – Jess Muller, Zara Hughes White, Georgina Butcher, Rebecca Halil.
  • Junior Sportsman of the Year – Edward van Meerkerk, Harry Cronk, Zane Sewell, Kienan Dolan and Harry van Meerkerk
  • Lindsey Andrews was also shortlisted by the Basingstoke Gazette for their Sports Personality of the year award.
  • Rebecca Halil, Mark Nevola and Harry Cronk also were chosen to win a Sport Scholarship to Basingstoke Sports Centre and the Aquadrome.

Shin Gi Tai Martial Arts - Basingstoke Sports AwardsWell done to all of us, without the hard work and effort of our members and their families, we wouldn’t be were we are today as a club. You make Shin Gi Tai, what is it.

The Basingstoke Gazette featured us several times on their website

Breeze FM also covered the sports awards

Thanks to Basingstoke Voluntary Sports Council for organising the annual awards and in particular Kevin Laing and Sue Hillyard. Thanks also go to Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council for their continued supported and in particular Sue Parker and Amy Sambell.

Shin Gi Tai Martial Arts Academy - Junior Competition team


Basingstoke and Deane Sports Coach of the Year 2012

Written by bryan. Posted in Awards, News

Basingstoke Sports Awards, Local Sports Council, Sportswoman of the Year, Coach of the Year, Basingstoke and Deane, Basingstoke Sports Council, Kevin Laing,Congratulations to the Shin Gi Tai Coaching Team at Basingstoke and Deane’s 2012 Sports Awards.

Our borough is fortunate to have a very strong sporting community, which is often demonstrated in competition.  The borough council, Local Sports Council and Basingstoke Sports Trust all play a big part in recognising and supporting this at the annual Sports Awards.
The annual Sports Awards are coordinated by the Local Sports Council and are hosted by the Apollo Hotel.  The awards ceremony celebrates the achievements of clubs, teams, coaches, officials and individuals involved in sport locally


Chief Instructor and Senior Coach Bryan Andrews, was nominated for and won Basingstoke and Deane’s Professional Sports Coach of the Year 2012 title.

Katherine White was nominated for and won Basingstoke and Deane’s Voluntary Sports Coach of the Year 2012 title.

Lindsey Andrews was nominated and came 3rd in the Ladies Veteran 2012 category. The winner of this event was Powerlifter Jean Maton.


Well done also to club members Isabel, Edward, Spardha, Harry and Gavin who were also nominated for various categories in the Adults and Junior sections and have been invited to the mayors reception next week.


Thanks to Kevin Laing and Sue Hillyard from the Local Sports Council for their hardwork in managing the Sports Awards and also for Amy Sambell and Sue Parker from Basingstoke and Deane Council for all their support.