#GSPOTY, Basingstoke Sports Awards, Club of the year, sportsman of the year, sportswoman of the year. Karate, Kung Fu, Judo, Basingstoke

A number of the members from our Martial Arts centre in Basingstoke were chosen to attend the Basingstoke and Deane Sports Awards 2013.

The Sports Awards are organised by Basingstoke Local Sports Council and in particular Kevin Laing and Sue Hillyard in conjunction with a host of other organisations including Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council, The Apollo Hotel, Basingstoke Sports Centre, Basingstoke and Deane Community Leisure Trust and Destination Basingstoke.

The aim of the Sports Awards is to celebrate sporting success and achievement in the Borough of Basingstoke and Deane from it’s many talented athletes.

The competition is always fierce with most of the top clubs in the Basingstoke entering various categories. This includes Basingstoke Gymnastics club, Basingstoke Bluefins Swimming club, Basingstoke Ice Hockey club, Totally Tennis, Basingstoke and Mid Hants Athletics club, Basingstoke Rugby Football Club and

We had a number of people chosen to attend to represent the club. They included:-


A – Junior Sportswoman of the year – JESS MULLER
B – Junior Sportsman of the year – EDWARD VAN MEERKERK

C – Senior Sportswoman of the year – LINDSEY ANDREWS
D – Coach of the year – BRYAN ANDREWS
E – Sports Club of the year
F – Junior and Senior Teams of the year

We were also very proud to have a number of winners from the club, including the following


1 – Senior Disabled Sportsperson of the year – GAVIN DOWNEY
2 – Men’s Veterans Sportsperson of the year – MARK NEVOLA
3 – Junior Volunteer of the year – EDWARD VAN MEERKERK
4 – Scholarship award – GAVIN DOWNEY

Basingstoke Sports Awards, Coaches, Coaching, Junior Volunteer, Senior Volunteer, Family Karate, Family Martial Arts

There were many other notable winners, I’d like to particularly congratulate our friends Kevin McAuslin Crine’s Karate student, Jim Feighery-Murphy for winning the Junior Sportman of the year category, Claire Williams from Basingstoke Gymnastics for Coach of the Year and Paul Temple also from Basingstoke Gymnastics for service to sport over a long period. 

Congratulations also go to Paula Clarke, Emma Baldry and Susan Pogmore, who were invited to the Mayors Reception to celebrate their work as volunteer coaches.